Libras are known for having balanced lives. As a libra, this is something that I feel I am competent at. Balance is very important to have in order to live a fulfilling, healthy, and gratifying life (or at least I think so).

To me living a balanced life means that you can juggle your studies, work, do extra curriculars, family, friends, and time for yourself and not feel overwhelmed or stressed. To master this, it takes time and practice. Living a balanced life is not easy, that’s for sure. Everyone has their own definition of balance. But as long as you feel content (or more than content), then you’re golden.

When things in my life go out of balance I start to go off my rocker. At the beginning of the semester I was going to school, working, being a state officer for SkillsUSA, hung out with friends, saw my family often, and had a boyfriend. My life was balanced and I felt more than satisfied with how things were going. But on September 22nd, my life changed.

I was crowned Miss University 2016. One of the best days of my life. But it was another thing to add to the many other things that I was already juggling. Unfortunately I had to go on an academic leave from waitressing so that I could focus and bring balance back to my life. One of the hardest parts about this is prioritizing. And it all really depends on the type of person you are or what matters most to you.

Throughout life random things will be thrown at you. Finding and knowing balance will make these occurrences easier and easier as they come. And sometimes your life won’t allow room for certain things such as relationships or friendships. But the most important thing to remember is that you and your mental health comes before anything.